Audiobook Picks NewsFlash

Canadian Library Wholesaler

Canadian Library Wholesaler

B-Side Lists

B Side Current Cover

B Side Current Cover

Summer '17 Fiction

Summer '17 Non-fiction

Kids Collection Development

 

B Side Current Cover B Side Current Cover

Board Books Fall 2017

Early Readers
Fall 2017

July A/V Catalogues

Bound to Be HitsBound For DVD

Web Ordering Login

USERNAME
PASSWORD

New Web Ordering Features

  • Cart Sharing – designate carts as shared or private allowing users to choose the access level of their carts

LBI Best Sellers

Current Best Seller List

Current Kids List

Adult Fall 2017
KIDS Fall 2017

LBI Graphic Novel List

Current Graphic Novel List

Library Bound Presents - Graphic Novel & Comic Anthology List

Fall 2017

Staff Favourites For July 2017

The following are a collection of titles selected by Library Bound staff as their favourites for the month.


Ron Stadnik Print Manager ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

"Brother: A Novel" by David Chariandy

A short novel without a wasted word that packs a powerful punch, exploring issues of immigration, poverty, masculinity. family and racism, set in a Scarborough housing complex. Chariandy, co-founder of Commodore Books and whose debut novel, Soucouyant was nominated for umpteen awards and prizes, writes like someone that should be teaching master classes. For readers of Colson Whitehead, Junot Diaz and Eden Robinson. A great addition to Canadian urban grit-lit.

Adult Fiction Hardcover LBN 742025

"Sugar Ride: Cycling from Hanoi to Kuala Lumpur" by Yvonne Blomer

This thoughtful and poetic travel memoir unfolds in non-chronological order, jumping back and forth from the late 90's to present day. Diabetic Blomer is as much concerned with wondering what it means to be "The Other"  in a strange land, and the tricks of memory,  as she is about her insulin levels. This isn't a book for those looking for practical insights while planning to cycle tour SE Asia; there are guidebooks available for that sort of thing. This will appeal more to someone apt to read Cheryl Strayed or Bill Bryson, drawn to philosophy and anthropology as much as they might be to pedaling. Blomer is Poet Laureate of Victoria, B.C.

Traveller's Tales Paperback LBN 1256369

To read more of Ron's Past Picks click here


Helen Wilding Cook Children's Collection Development Coordinator ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

"Strange the Dreamer" by Laini Taylor

Featuring a brilliant plot and beautiful writing, Strange the Dreamer illustrates Laini Taylor’s excellent originality in magical world building as it follows the adventures of an orphan named Lazlo Strange. On top of this Taylor's characterization of at least twenty main players is outstanding in this symphony of a novel. Together with The Diabolic it is among the most exciting books I’ve read in years. Recommend it to everyone! Particularly recommend this book as an adult cross-over, and to Philp Pullman, Kristin Cashore and Veronica Roth fans. I started this book in print but finished with the audio. This gorgeous, almost musical writing deserves to be heard aloud.

YA FICTION

Hardcover LBN 1200964

Audiobook LBN 1199767

"I Have No Secrets" by Penny Joelson

Jemma has severe cerebral palsy and is unable to communicate. Despite this she has a keen intellect and takes in everything that happens around her. When her care-giver, Sarah, goes missing, Jemma knows who’s responsible. He knows she can’t talk and so he taunts her and sends the police in the wrong direction. Then Jemma’s family hears of a new technology that might help her speak. Suddenly, Jemma’s in a race to locate Sarah and tell the police, before her kidnapper learns Jemma is able to implicate him. Woven into the mystery is lots of content that shows what Jemma’s life is like. Never didactic, it will nevertheless help readers relate to young women like Jemma.

This YA mystery is suitable for bright kids reading above their age or for younger YA readers. Romance is not a key plotline and nothing violent is directly described.

DIVERSE YA FICTION Paperback LBN 1262187

To read more of Helen's Past Picks click here


Dan Patterson Graphic Novel Specialist/Cataloguing Coordinator ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

"Time Shifters" by Chris Grine

Following a strange blue light into the woods behind his house, Luke stumbles upon a mysterious device lying on the ground.  Such is the beginning of Luke’s cross-dimensional adventure.  Accompanied by a cranky scientist, a friendly dinosaur, robot Abraham Lincoln, and a sassy ghost and pursued by a trio of bumbling henchmen, Luke strives to free himself of the device and make his way home.  Full of likeable characters and vibrant engaging art, Time Shifters is a great read for kids.

JUVENILE GRAPHIC NOVEL

Hardcover LBN 1259586

Paperback LBN 1259587

"Hostage" by Guy Delisle

Known for his engaging graphic travelogues like Pyongyang and Jerusalem, Guy Delisle turns his pencil away from himself this time to tell the story of Christophe André, a Doctor Without Borders administrator kidnapped in the Caucasus region in 1997.  Held in solitary confinement for three months Christophe does what he can to survive the hopeless situation.

Guy Delisle expertly portrays the psychological effects of confinement in this thoughtful look at the will to survive the darkest of moments.

GRAPHIC NOVEL Hardcover LBN 1250772

"5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior" by Mark Siegel

The five worlds are on the brink of environmental catastrophe unless the ancient beacons are lit but rising tensions between the populations of the various worlds are distracting the leaders, preventing anything from being done.  So it falls to a trio of unlikely heroes, a clumsy sand dancer, a young pauper, and a star athlete with a surprising secret, to take action and save not just one, but five worlds.

JUVENILE GRAPHIC NOVEL

Hardcover LBN 1234582

Paperback LBN 1234585

To read more of Dan's Past Picks click here


Tracy Reid Music & Video Game Manager ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

"Welcome Home" by Zac Brown Band

The Grammy-Award winning Zac Brown Band will release Welcome Home, the band’s new album and their first release on Southern Ground/Elektra Records. Produced by GRrammy-Award winning producer Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, Sturgill Simpson, Jason Isbell) and In The Arena Productions, and recorded at Southern Ground Nashville studio, Welcome Home is what the band calls not only a return to their roots, but also a return to 'The Foundation,' the band's debut album that is now 5X platinum.

Genre: Country Compact Disc - VRN 306397

"Heart Break" by Lady Antebellum

Lady Antebellum will release their sixth studio album on June 9th. Heart Break ranges from the sweet melancholy of “Somebody Else’s Heart” to the dramatic, surging ballad “Hurt”. The trio had a hand in writing eleven songs on Heart Break, resulting in their most intimate and heartfelt work to date. As Lady Antebellum gears up to get back on the road, the group is excited to add this new range of sounds and colours into a set already packed with a familiar arsenal of hits.

Genre: Country Compact Disc - VRN 307919

To read more of Tracy's Past Picks click here


Anna Kardas
DVD Coordinator ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

11.22.63

TV Miniseries- High school teacher Jake Epping travels back in time to prevent the assassination of President John F. Kennedy - but his mission is threatened by Lee Harvey Oswald, falling in love, and the past itself, which doesn't want to be changed and shouldn't be changed.

Genre: TV Series DVD - VRN 300488

To read more of Anna's Past Picks click here